Any person who willfully makes any false or misleading statement or representation for the purpose of obtaining or wrongfully withholding any benefit or payment under the Mississippi Workers’ Compensation Act is guilty of a felony, and on conviction thereof may be punished by a fine not to exceed $5,000 or double the value of the fraud, whichever is greater, or by imprisonment not to exceed three years, or by both fine and imprisonment.
To be eligible for wage benefits, the injured employee must be deemed disabled by a physician and must not have worked for a minimum of five days.
- Waiting Period: There is a five-day waiting period in Mississippi. If the disability continues for 14 days, the injured employee will be entitled to wage benefits for the first five days.
- Initial Payment: The first payment of wage benefits is due to the injured employee on the 14th day following knowledge/proof of disability. These wage benefits will then be paid in bi weekly installments.
- Percentage of Wages: Weekly wage benefits are tax free and equal 66 2/3 of your average weekly wage subject to a maximum rate.
- Maximum Rate: Weekly wage benefits are subject to a maximum of $523.16 as of this time.
- For more information on the maximum and minimum wage benefits by year click here.
If an employee sustains an injury or illness arising out of and during the course of employment, workers’ compensation will cover reasonable and medically necessary treatment for an injury. Injured employees are not responsible for any copays and should not have any out-of-pocket expenses, as long as the employee follows the medical care directed by the physician of choice.
- Choice of Physician: The employer will direct the initial treatment following the injury. The injured employee can choose treatment from the employer’s choice of physician or elect to treat with a physician of their choosing. Election of choice of physician must be in writing. Any change in treating physicians must be pre-approved by the employer/carrier. If choice is denied, the injured employee may apply to the Workers’ Compensation Commission for approval of a change in physician.
- Mileage Reimbursement: The injured employee is entitled to reimbursement of mileage expenses associated with the medical treatment of the claim. To be reimbursed, you must submit a mileage reimbursement form monthly.
- Prescriptions: LUBA partners with CompRx to provide pharmacy benefits to injured employees. CompRx will issue a prescription card on behalf of LUBA for use at pharmacies to avoid any out- of-pocket expense for the injured employee. CompRx does offer mail-order prescriptions. Please contact your adjuster or CompRx directly to discuss this option. You may also visit the LUBA Care section of this website and select pharmacy as the specialty.